List of participants

Meeting of the Socialist International Middle East Committee, Cairo, 14 March 1998

Chair of the Committee

Bjørn Tore Godal (Norway, DNA)


Secretary General of the Socialist International

Luis Ayala


Belgium, Socialist Party, PS

Simone Susskind


Chile, Party for Democracy, PPD

Marcia Covarrubias


Egypt, National Democratic Party, NDP

Youssef Wali
Kamal El-Shazly
Osama El-Baz
Safwat El-Sherif

Mohamed Abdellah (Vice-Chair of SIMEC)


France, Socialist Party, PS

Pierre Guidoni (Vice-Chair of SIMEC)


Germany, Social Democratic Party of Germany, SPD

Wolfgang Weege


Great Britain, Labour Party

Ernie Ross


Greece, Panhellenic Socialist Movement, PASOK

Vassilis Konstantineas
George Florentis


Israel, Israel Labour Party

Shlomó Ben-Ami
Israel Gat


Israel, United Workers' Party of Israel, MAPAM

Latif Dori


Italy, Italin Democratic Socialists, SDI

Umberto Ranieri
Gianfranco Brusasco


Morocco, Socialist Union of Popular Forces, USFP

Mohammed Lakhssassi


Norway, Norwegian Labour Party, DNA

Tonje Westby


Portugal, Socialist Party

José Lamego


Sweden, Swedish Social Democratic Party, SAP

Pierre Schori
Carl Lidbom
Brigitta Silén


Territories under Palestinian Authority, Palestine, Fatah

Yasser Arafat
Hani El-Hassan
Ilan Halevi


Tunisia, Constitutional Democratic Assembly, RCD

Saïd Naceur Ramadhane


Office of the SI President

Jean-Michel Rosenfeld


Party of European Socialists, PES

Jean-François Vallin


Parliamentary Group of the Party of European Socialists

Jannis Sakellariou
Vagelis Lepouras


International League of Religious Socialists, ILRS

Evert Svensson


SI Secretariat

Gabriela Shepherd