Decision of the Congress regarding Membership

XXII Congress of the Socialist International, São Paulo, 27-29 October 2003

Change of Status

To full membership

Albania: Socialist Party of Albania, SPA

Andorra: Social Democratic Party of Andorra, PS

Angola: MPLA

Armenia: ARF Armenian Socialist Party

Benin: Social Democratic Party, PSD

Guinea: Guinean People’s Assembly, RPG

Hungary: Hungarian Social Democratic Party, MSzDP

FYR Macedonia: Social Democratic Union of Macedonia, SDUM

Mauritius: Mauritius Militant Movement, MMM

Mexico: Institutional Revolutionary Party, PRI

Mongolia: Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party, MPRP

Niger: Party for Democracy and Socialism of Niger, PNDS

Pakistan: Pakistan People’s Party, PPP

Panama: Democratic Revolutionary Party, PRD

Serbia & Montenegro: Social Democratic Party of Montenegro, SDPM

Uruguay: New Space, NE


To consultative status

Azerbaijan: Social Democratic Party of Azerbaijan, SDPA

Belarus: Belarusian Social Democratic Party (Narodnaya Hramada)


New Members Full membership:

Bulgaria: Bulgarian Socialist Party, BSP

Romania: Social Democratic Party, PSD


Consultative status:

Bosnia & Herzegovina: The Alliance of Independent Social Democrats, SNSD

Burundi: Frodebu

East Timor: Fretilin

Ghana: National Democratic Congress, NDC

Guatemala:Convergencia Social Democrata, CSD

Mali: Rassemblement pour le Mali, RPM

Namibia: Congress of Democrats, COD

Namibia: SWAPO

Paraguay: Partido País Solidario

Philippines: Akbayan

Russian Federation: Social Democratic Party of Russia, SDPR

Serbia & Montenegro: Social Democratic Party of Serbia

Serbia & Montenegro: Democratic Party, Serbia

Serbia & Montenegro: Democratic Party of Socialists of Montenegro, DPS

Tunisia: Forum Démocratique pour le Travail et les Libertés, FDTL

Ukraine: Socialist Party of Ukraine

Ukraine: Social Democratic Party of Ukraine, SDPU

Venezuela: Movimiento al Socialismo, MAS


Associated Organisation:

USA: National Democratic Institute for International Affairs (NDI)



Democratic Republic of Congo: Union pour la Démocratie et le Progrès Social, UDPS

Iraq: Patriotic Union of Kurdistan, PUK

Jordan: Jordanian Democratic Party of the Left, JDPL

Mauritania: Rassemblement des Forces Démocratiques, RFD

Turkey: DEHAP

Yemen: Yemeni Socialist Party


You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.