Committees and working groups established by the Council

BRUSSELS COUNCIL - Platform for global progress, 10-11 April 2000


Africa Committee

Chair: Ousmane Tanor Dieng (PS, Senegal)


Asia-Pacific Committee

Co-Chairs: Helen Clark (NZLP, New Zealand) and Takako Doi (SDP, Japan)


Committee for Central and Eastern Europe, SICEE

Co-Chairs: Piero Fassino (DS, Italy) and László Kovács (MSzP, Hungary)

- SICEE Working Group on the ‘Stability Pact’

Chair: Petre Roman (PD, Romania)


Committee for Latin America and the Caribbean, SICLAC

Co-Chairs: Raúl Alfonsín (UCR, Argentina) and Anselmo Sule (PRSD, Chile)


Mediterranean Committee

Chair: Raimon Obiols (PSOE, Spain)


Middle East Committee, SIMEC

Chair: Thorbjørn Jagland (DNA, Norway)

- SIMEC Working Group on the Kurdish Question

Chair: (SAP, Sweden)


Committee on the Economy, Social Cohesion and the Environment

Chair: Christoph Zöpel (SPD, Germany)

- Working Group on the World Trade Organisation

Chair: Erkki Tuomioja (SDP, Finland)

- Working Group on the Kyoto Agreement

Chair: Siri Bjerke (DNA, Norway)


Committee on Local Authorities

Chair: Hermes Binner (PSP, Argentina)


Committee on Peace, Democracy and Human Rights

Chair: Milos Zeman (CSSD, Czech Republic)