Agenda, programme and panelists

Monday, 15 November

Morning session


Addresses by:

-Jacob Zuma, Vice-President of the Republic of South Africa and Deputy President of the
African National Congress

- António Guterres, President of the Socialist International



Contributions on the main theme by:

Joaquim Chissano, President of Mozambique and leader of Frelimo

Paul Raymond Bérenger, Prime Minister of Mauritius and leader of the Mauritius Militant Movement

Herta Däubler-Gmelin, Member of the German Federal Parliament and Member of the SPD Executive Committee

Mohamed El-Yazghi, First Secretary of the Socialist Union of Popular Forces, USFP, Morocco

Elio Di Rupo, Leader of the PS, Belgium, and a Vice-President of the SI

Jeltje van Nieuwenhoven, Labour Party, PvdA, Netherlands, and a Vice-President of the SI

Poul Nyrup Rasmussen, President of the Party of European Socialists, PES

Fikile Mbalula, President of International Union of Socialist Youth, IUSY

Deniz Baykal, Leader of the Republican People’s Party, CHP, Turkey and a Vice-President of the SI

George Foulkes, British Labour Party and a Member of the SI Executive

End of morning session

Afternoon session

Discussion of the main theme (continued)


The African Union: building common responses for the people of the region

Contributions and debate on the first panel:

Jessie Duarte, Member of the ANC National Executive, South Africa

Julião Mateus Paulo, Secretary General, MPLA Angola

Hugh Bayley, Member of Parliament, Labour Party, Great Britain

Jacques Baudin, Socialist Party of Senegal

Guy Labertit, Socialist Party, France

Jemal Abdelwaheb, Deputy Secretary General of the Constitutional Democratic Assembly, RCD, Tunisia

Chantal Kambiwa, Social Democratic Front, Cameroon and SIW Vice-President

Ahmed Ould Daddah, President of the Assembly of Democratic Forces, Mauritania

End of afternoon session


Tuesday, 16 November

Morning and final session

Session resumes


Ten years of the Beijing Platform for Action: which way forward to continue empowering women?

Contributions and debate on the second panel:

Bathabile Dlamini, Secretary General of the ANC Women's League

Pia Locatelli, President of Socialist International Women

Margarita Zapata, Sandinista Liberation Front, FSLN, Nicaragua

Lissy Groner, Member of the European Parliament and an SIW Vice-President

Mario Nalpatian, ARF Armenian Socialist Party

Amelia Sumbana, Frelimo Party, Mozambique, and SIW Vice-President


Sustainable development: Fulfilling the commitments of the World Summit on Sustainable Development (WSSD), Johannesburg 2002

Contributions and debate on the third panel:

Mohammed Valli Moosa, former Minister of Environmental Affairs, ANC, South Africa

Christoph Zöpel, Chair of the SI Committee on the Economy, Social Cohesion and the Environment, SPD, Germany

Ousmane Tanor Dieng, Chair of the SI Africa Committee, Socialist Party, Senegal

Ouafa Hajji, Socialist Union of Popular Forces, USFP, Morocco /

Ibrahim Rachidi, USFP, Morocco

Maria Titizian, ARF Armenian Socialist Party

Nalin Pekgul, President of Swedish Social Democratic Party’s Women’s Organisation

Report of the Secretary General

Report of the Chair of the Finance and Administration Committee

Report of the Chair of the Ethics Committee

Date, venue and main theme of the next Council meeting


You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.