List of speakers

MEXICO COUNCIL - A Global Social Democratic Response to the World Financial Crisis, 17-18 November 2008

Monday 17 November


Addresses by:

Jose Trinidad Padilla, Director of the Institute of Innovation and Governance, University of Guadalajara

Guadalupe Acosta Naranjo, Party of Democratic Revolution, PRD

Beatriz Paredes, President of the Institutional Revolutionary Party, PRI, Vice-President of the Socialist International

George Papandreou, President of the Socialist International


The return of politics: the critical role of government and regulatory frameworks in securing a sustainable and fair global economy 

Alfred Gusenbauer, Chancellor of Austria; SI Vice-President

Cuauhtémoc Cárdenas, Founder of the Party of Democratic Revolution, Mexico; and Honorary President of the Socialist International

Ousmane Tanor Dieng, General Secretary of the Socialist Party, PS, Senegal

Massimo D’Alema, Former Prime Minister of Italy, DS; SI Vice-President

Eero Heinäluoma, Social Democratic Party, Finland; SI Vice-President

Manuel Laguarda, Socialist Party, Uruguay, and SI Vice-President

Inmaculada Rodríguez-Piñero, Socialist Spokesperson on the Parliamentary Economic Commission, member of the Federal Executive Commission of the Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party, PSOE

Closure of first session


Christoph Zöpel, Social Democratic Party of Germany, SPD

Sue van der Merwe, Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs, African National Congress, ANC, South Africa

Nikolay Levichev, Leader of the A Just Russia Party parliamentary group

Juliao Mateus Paulo, Secretary General of MPLA, Angola, and SI Vice-President

Victor Benoît, Leader of the Union of Haitian Social Democrats and SI Vice-President

Carlos Vieira da Cunha, SI Vice-President, Leader of the Democratic Labour Party, PDT, Brazil; Member of Parliament and SI Vice-President

Samuel Santos, Minister for Foreign Affairs, FSLN, Nicaragua

Philip Cordery, Secretary General of the Party of European Socialists, PES

Hager Cherif, Deputy General Secretary of the Constitutional Democratic Assembly, RCD, Tunisia

Jesus Rodriguez, Radical Civic Union, UCR, Argentina

Paulo Pisco, Socialist Party, PS, Portugal

Javier Guerrero, Institutional Revolutionary Party, PRI, Mexico

Juan Carlos Zabalza, Senator, Socialist Party, Argentina

Mauricio Mulder, General Secretary of the Peruvian Aprista Party, PAP

Yiannikis Omirou, President of the Movement of Social Democrats EDEK


New opportunities for international cooperation and multilateralism following the U.S. elections 

Frank Llewellyn, National Director, Democratic Socialists of America, DSA, United States

Meg Munn, Member of Parliament, Labour Party, Great Britain

Juan Fernando López Aguilar, President of the Parliamentary Commission for Public Administration, Secretary General of the PSC-PSOE; former Minister of Justice, Spain

Hakan Juholt, Secretary of the Swedish Social Democratic Party, SAP

Pascal Affi N’Guessan, President of the Ivorian Popular Front, Côte d'Ivoire, FPI; SI Vice-President

Gustavo Carvajal, Institutional Revolutionary Party, PRI, Mexico

Closure of second session

Tuesday 18 November

Ricardo Lagos, former President of Chile and a Special Envoy of the United Nations Secretary-General on Climate Change, Co-Chair of the Socialist International Commission for a Sustainable World Society

Lourdes Quinones, Vice-President of Socialist International Women, SIW, PRI, Mexico


Working for social justice, inclusion and community in emerging and developing economies: priorities and innovative approaches

Amalia Garcia, Governor of the State of Zacatecas, PRD, Mexico

Miguel Angel Ibarra, Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs, National Union for Hope, UNE, Guatemala

Paulo Jorge Teixera, MPLA, Angola

Gerardo Morris, Peruvian Aprista Party, PAP

Placido Mico Abogo, General Secretary, CPDS, Equatorial Guinea; SI Vice-President

Addressing inequality and enhancing regional cooperation: the perspective from Latin America and the Caribbean

Piero Fassino, National Secretary of the Democrats of the Left, DS, Italy

Sigfrido Reyes, Member of Parliament, FMLN, El Salvador

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.